Loan Appeals

Client Loan Decision Appeal Policy

Community Futures Highwood (CFH) is an independent not-for-profit corporation led by a volunteer Board of Directors. The Board of Directors has final authority for all decisions and will ensure its clients are served in a fair and professional manner and that its loan clients will have access to an appeal process.


Appeal Process / Rejected Applications

An applicant may appeal a loan decision in writing, outlining their reasons for the appeal and or presenting new information that may help the application viability.

A written appeal will be directed to the Investment Review Committee (IRC) Chairperson and the General Manager who will either ask,

  1. The Board Chair to convene a CFH Management Review   Committee (MRC) meeting to review the information presented by the Loan Client and the rationale for the original decline decision, or
  2. The IRC Chair may send the appeal directly back to the IRC for reconsideration if the appeal contains materially different information from the original proposal or shows that the initial review was inadequately represented.

Should the CFH designated Committee again reject the proposal and the client requests an independent review of the Board’s original and subsequent appeal process, the Board of Directors will provide the client with timely access to a process of external appeal provided through the Community Futures South Alberta Region’s Appeal/Redress Committee.

The role of the Community Futures South Alberta Region’s Appeal/Redress Committee is to provide an external and independent review of Community Futures Highwood’s decision making and internal review processes.  However, the Board of Community Futures Highwood maintains all final authority for all decisions. 



Let’s talk about what your business needs.

Contact Us

14 McRae Street
PO Box 1599
Okotoks, AB  T1S 1B5
P: 403-995-4151


Communities Served

Aldersyde, Arrowwood, Black Diamond, Blackie, Carmangay, Cayley, Champion, De Winton, Foothills, High River, Lomond, Longview, Millarville, Milo, Mossleigh, Nanton, Okotoks, Parkland, Priddis, Turner Valley, and Vulcan